Book Review

City of Glass Review

Book Reviews

11925769_1083199301701638_1159599085_n(1)
by Cassandra Clare

Ok I have to start this review with a fangirl **eeeeeeeeeek**. The Malec feels were just too much in this book. Seriously, I had to clamp a hand over my mouth to stop me letting out a high pitch squeel in one scene (trust me you will know it when you read it). I honestly did not think Alec and Magnus could get any cuter but I was definitely proved wrong. There relationship is written subtlety into the storyline. However the small moments are written so beautifully that they just add a goodness and sweetness  to the story that is mostly filled with battles and betrayal.

So talking about the book as a whole can I just say “WOW”. It was action packed from start to finish. I would often find twenty pages more had gone past without me even noticing. In this book we introduced to Idris; the home country of Shadowhunters. The group find themselves there after having to jump through a portal to escape after an attack. However, Clary is not with them because Jace had taken upon himself to decide that she was safer away from Idris even though this meant she would not be able to save her mother. This left me disliking Jace for a while. I hated that he didn’t see her as someone who could make her own, or who had the strength to follow them through. Fortunately my hate did not continue throughout the book but it did make me judge him probably a little more harshly than I should have (oops).  After this the Clave have to decide whether to give in to Valentine’s demands or go against everything they believe in and fight alongside Downworlders. Of course Clary finds her own way there and has a lot of adventures from the minute she steps into, or should I say fall into, Idris. I thought she grew as a character and by the end became a strong, independent character. A far cry from the whiny character she seemed to be at the beginning of the series.

However, the biggest relief of the book were the many revelations of Clary and Jace’s past. Which in turn finally resolved the awkward relationship between them. Of course I don’t want to give too much of the story away for those who haven’t read it. But I will say if you haven’t read it, especially those who may have flagged around book 1 or 2, go read it! It is chapters and chapters of action, hurt, loss, love. Trust me you won’t know whether, emotionally, you are coming or going (but in a good way).  I am really looking forward to reading the next in the series.

amy

4 thoughts on “City of Glass Review

Leave a Reply

