Book Review

Flawed Review (ARC)

Book Reviews

Tflaweditle: Flawed
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Publisher: HarpersCollins UK
Genre: Young Adult

Amazon    Goodreads

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This hasn’t effected my review in any way.

This is Cecelia Ahern’s first stab at the Young Adult genre and what a debut! Flawed is set in society where perfection is valued above everything else. Where breaking the rules can leave you branded flawed forever, and by branded I mean literally branded. The Guild decide who is flawed and has them branded with an F so that everyone can see that they went against society. Celestine has grown up being the model example of perfection, everything the Guild wants in society, until the day she makes a decision that will change her life and the live’s of those closest to her.

So fans of Ahern who were expecting her usual writing style maybe a little disappointed as this is nothing like her other books. However, fans of YA dystopian will love it. I found the whole idea of people being branded flawed a new and interesting idea. Although I couldn’t quite understand how criminals seemed to have better lives once they carried out their sentence than the flawed, since their punishment was permanent. But all in all I found the idea intriguing.

The protagonist, Celestine, was a bit of a wild card. One minute she could be brave and caring whilst the next she was selfish and cowardly. It meant I never knew how she would react to a situation. Although this did mean I was constantly on the edge of my seat waiting to see what would occur next. Celestine does have some romantic entanglements. However, unlike most YA books it doesn’t rule the story line which I found refreshing.

There was one scene that really stuck with me (you will know it when you read it!) as I read that shaped my view of the Guild. The scene left me feeling angry and repulsed. I couldn’t actually believe it was happening and made me wonder if a society could be created that would allow something like that to happen. (Yes this book also makes you think about morality and society) However, despite this scene making me want burst onto the page and take matters into my own hands, it also helped me become emotionally invested in all of the characters. I can honestly say I wanted to throw on a red F armband and join the Flawed in solidarity….but without the branding.

So overall I enjoyed the book and would recommend it to others. But I do wish that the ending wasn’t such a cliffhanger as unfortunately the sequel is not out until 2017.

Rating –🌟🌟🌟🌟/5

amy

 

 

One thought on “Flawed Review (ARC)

  1. Pingback: April Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

