Book Review

Illuminae Review

Book Reviewsilluminae

Title: Illuminae
Author: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Publisher: Knopf Books
Genre: Umm I suppose Sci-Fi?

Goodreads         Amazon

Unusual. That is the word I would use to describe this book. The layout alone threw me off for a few pages as I had never read anything like it before. If you haven’t read this book before have a look at the pictures of just a few of the pages below. The book is made up of logs, interviews, reports and data from an AI. Not your usual read.

I had heard a lot of buzz around this book but unfortunately I just did not feel the magic. I’m not saying I did not enjoy some parts but I was easily distracted by other books. I kept putting this book down in order to pick up another one. Which is one of the reasons it took me so long to finish it. I found it to be a book that was difficult to read if you were not in the right mind frame to read it. Mostly because of the unfamiliar format.

However, it did pick up speed in the last quarter of the book and at one point there was a little bit of a shock factor. I definitely did not see the last part coming (trust me you will know it when you read it). But even this could not make up for the 3/4 of the book with very little grip factor. Even the characters didn’t pull a lot of emotion from me. I found it confusing to keep up with who was who, and since the main couple only communicated through technology it was difficult to get a feel for what their emotions were. It was all rather robotic. Overall I gave this book 3/5 stars. The plot twists are what saved it from being less. They were numerous occasions near the end when I was completely blind sided and was surprised at a certain change in events. However, it took a lot to get there. Others have expressed their love for this book. But unfortunately it just wasn’t for me.

Rating – 🌟🌟🌟/5

amy

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Illuminae Review

  1. Pingback: April Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

