Book Review

The Mysterious Affair at Castaway House Review

Book ReviewsThe Mysterious Affair at Castaway House
Title: The Mysterious Affair at Castaway House
Author: Stephanie Lam
Publisher: Penguin Books (UK)
Genre: Historical fiction, Mystery, Romance

Goodreads       Amazon 

I want to start by saying I won this Arc copy on Gooodreads a few years ago. Although I got it for free this review is still my own opinion.

I am ashamed to say I put it on my shelves and forgot about it. This is a huge shame because it turns out this book is amazing! The book alternates between 1924 and 1965, however both eras are set at Castaway House. In 1965 Rosie has left home and is trying to make it on her own. Sharing one of the rooms at Castaway lodger house she finds herself uncovering a scandal that occurred in the house decades before. Both the scandal and her own dark past come back to haunt her. Whilst in 1924 young Robert Carver visits his wealthy cousin, Alec Bray, at Castaway house for the Summer. Robert finds himself caught up in the drama of the damaged Bray family.

I picked up this book hoping for a calm, historical read after all the dark, dystopian novels I had been reading. I didn’t quite get the calm. Instead I found myself pulled into scandal after scandal. From affairs to closeted homosexuals. This book had it all. This was Lam’s debut novel and I can honestly say I could not tell this was her first book. The writing was fast paced and intriguing. I was a little worried that I would get a little confused jumping from one era to another, but I needn’t had worried. The chapters seem to flow in a way I thought would be impossible for alternating storylines.

The book is a long read at just over 500 pages. However, once you get into it, is a gripping read. I found myself finishing it in 2 days which is usually impossible for me to do with a book this length. The only disappointing thing about this book was that I felt like there were a few questions that didn’t get outright answered at the end of the book. Instead there were a lot of implications that left you to your own conclusions.

Overall this was a great read and I would definitely recommend it, especially to historical fiction lovers.

Rating – 🌟🌟🌟🌟/5

amy

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “The Mysterious Affair at Castaway House Review

  1. Pingback: April Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

