Book Review

Passenger Review

passengerTitle: Passenger
Author: Alexandra Bracken
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical, Time-Travel

Goodreads                    Amazon

‘Grabs you by the heart from it’s opening notes and doesn’t let go until it knockout, blockbuster finale.’ – Sarah J. Maas

This was the quote that was on the front of the book and was just one of the reasons I read this book. If Sarah J. Maas found the book gripping then I had to give it a go. The book starts in the present day, New York City. Etta is a budding violinist who is suddenly torn from everything she has ever known and loved. One minute she is in New York, the next she is pulled centuries into the past. Next we meet Nicholas, a pirate who is tasked with delivering Etta to the cold-hearted Ironwoods. However the longer he is with Etta, on their journey, the more he is drawn to her. As they travel to other countries and through time they find themselves fighting against not only the Ironwoods but time itself. Born in different centuries can they find a way to be together? An intriguing plot and questions that need to be answered. Trust me there is a lot to love about this book.

read again.gif

I do need to be a little honest. One of the main reasons I picked up this book was the cover. I know, I know. I shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover but just look at it! It is stunning. I saw the book all over bookstagram for months before it was available in the UK and I almost jumped in joy when I saw it in Waterstones. Since the minute I bought it it has been making appearances all over my bookstagram feed. I just love taking photos of it. However, I should probably move on from the cover. Even if I could stare at it forever.

hearts.gif

Luckily for me the content is just as amazing as the cover. A few people I spoke to were a little worried about the time travel aspect of it but trust me there is nothing to worry about. The time travel doesn’t pull away from the plot or the character development at all. In fact it added an interesting twist to the relationship blooming between Etta and Nicholas. I mean we all love when our OTPs fight against society norms or distance to be together. Imagine the drama when they have to go against time itself. It is truly magical to read.

Bracken definitely has a way with words. Every sentence was perfectly crafted and well researched. She drew me in page after page and I was so disappointed when it ended. Mostly because I didn’t have the next in the series in my hand ready to read. It is going to be a long wait for me. It has been awhile since I have been so desperate to read the next in the series as soon as I had finished the first. But this book made me fall in love with the characters and my heart almost ached with the need to find out how their journey will end.

give it to me.gif

So if you haven’t read this book, I highly suggest you go to your nearest bookshop and buy it now! I dare you not to fall in love with Nicholas or find Etta completely inspiring. There are no weak-willed women in this story. You will only find a female protagonist who works hard to become a highly talented musician and who doesn’t lay down and play dead when her world crumbles around her. If that doesn’t spell out the perfect female role model and don’t know what does. But if a strong-willed heroine doesn’t tickle your fancy how about a male love interest of colour? As many other reviewers have mentioned this is unfortunately a rarity in young adult fiction but Bracken includes a character of colour and shows the hardships they have faced throughout different parts of history. A lot of research went into the eras. How did people live? What did they wear? How did they act? All of this was taken into consideration when this book was written and it really shows in the vivid descriptions.

Well there we go, another review finished. Have you read Passenger? What did you think? Let me know below.

Rating – 🌟🌟🌟🌟/5

amy

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

3 thoughts on “Passenger Review

  1. I see this one all over bookstagram too and love the cover. This is the first time I’ve read anything about it and you’ve definitely got me interested! Sounds very interesting and unique. Great review, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

