Book Review

Read Me Like A Book Review

Read me like a book
Title: Read Me Like A Book
Author: Liz Kessler
Publisher: Indigo
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Goodreads             Amazon              MaximumPop

This was my first MaximumPop win so I was excited to read and review for them. However, I didn’t enjoy reading this book as much as I thought I would. But before you write this book off because of that comment let me explain. It has nothing to do with the writing. Liz Kessler is a great author who can write realistic and relate-able characters.

Ashleigh Walker has a lot to deal with; college, her parents fighting and falling in love with her teacher. Did I mention that her teacher is a woman? This is story of a young woman discovering who she is and trying to find her way in the world.

I really love the idea of this book, however I think it is aimed at younger readers. Readers who can relate to Ashleigh in a way that I found very difficult. I think this may be because I work in a school myself and found the feelings Ashleigh had for her teacher a little disturbing. Mostly because I couldn’t stop thinking of the consequences the relationship would lead to if it were to happen. It is also partly because I have obviously gone way past my teenage years and did not face any of the struggles Ashleigh did, so found it a little difficult to put myself in her shoes.

But as I said before don’t take this review as a negative one. Just because I couldn’t connect with the story doesn’t mean other readers won’t. I believe a lot of people would enjoy this book, especially teenagers, who I think this is aimed more at. There are many young people who could relate to Ashleigh and even take comfort from her.

Rating – 2.5/5

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

amy

5 thoughts on “Read Me Like A Book Review

    1. It’s not the book. If I looked at it objectively it is really well written. I just think my job and age just made it an awkward read for me. But don’t let my review dishearten you. Like I said the writing is really well done.

      Like

    1. Maximum pop is a website that keeps you up to date with recen book, film, music releases and general entertainment gossip. But they have a really good book part. If you follow maximum pop books on Twitter there is always great giveaways. You sometimes have to review the books once you get them though.

      Like

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

