Book Review

A Promise Of Fire Review

a promise of fire
Title: A Promise of Fire
Author: Amanda Bouchet
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Genre: Fantasy, Romance

Goodreads              Amazon

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The fact it is free has no impact on my review.

Warning there maybe some light spoilers for later on in the book but mostly about the relationships of the characters. No plot spoilers.

Cat is a powerful Soothsayer with more powers than she publicly shows. She is living a calm life in the circus she has called home for eight years before Griffin, a fierce Warlord, takes her away to serve his Kingdom. Griffin’s intent is to bring peace to his realm, with the help of the Kingmaker (Cat). However, the smart-mouthed, fiery woman is not making it easy. She fights him every step of the way.

I absolutely loved this book! It was magic, love and adventure all rolled into one spectacular package and I couldn’t get enough. I was gripped from the first page, which hasn’t happened in a while. Usually it takes me a few chapters to become enthralled in a book but this book captured me right from the start. I loved Cat. She is fiery, independent and doesn’t take crap from no one. Even when she has no choice but to go with Griffin she doesn’t let him forget that she is not happy about it. Smart mouthed  doesn’t even begin to describe her. No wimpy Mary Sue in this book. It’s strong women all the way. Now Griffin on the other hand took some getting used to. I found him pig-headed and stubborn and loathed the fact he was forcing Cat to leave her home. However by the end of the book every fiber of my being was screaming at Cat to give into her feelings for her. He suddenly became loyal, loving and fiercely protective in my eyes and I wanted nothing more for him and Cat to ride of into the sunset together.

Despite my love for Cat and Griffin the real reason I kept reading was for the Beta Team. Those lovable Warriors stole my heart and had me wishing that I could be Cat for just 5 minutes and relish in the love and respect they have for her. Cat’s bond with them was amazing to read and I looked forward to the pages that featured the team.

Overall, I couldn’t ask for more in a book. I just wish physical copies were already available so I could take some pictures for my bookstagram account because the cover is just as stunning as the contents inside. A must read!! Also the author is lovely. She liked and commented on my tweets about the book and was so appreciative of the feedback.

Rating – 🌟🌟🌟🌟/5

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

amy

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Promise Of Fire Review

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

