Book Review

The Dark Days Club Review

the dark days club
Title: The Dark Days Club
Author: Alison Goodman
Publisher: Viking Books
Genre: Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Young Adult

Amazon                 Goodreads

Lady Helen Wrexhall life is full of balls and preparing herself to be a wife and a proper lady. That is until she meets Lord Carlston. Suddenly she is propelled into a world full of darkness and demons.

This book has been described as been described a combination of Jane Austen and Buffy the Vampire Slayer and I have to agree. Lady Helen goes against everything her upbringing has taught her. She is intelligent, quick-witted and completely improper. During these times I loved. However, there were times when she would revert back to a meek individual. Although I admit that the era the book was set in had this effect on her character so I could not dislike her for it because when it mattered she was strong and courageous as well as witty. What more could you ask for in  female protagonist? Or a protagonist in general for that matter.

One of the positive things about this book is that it does not revolve around a romance. We don’t spend the whole book wondering if they will end up together. No will they, won’t they? I am not saying there are no hints at romance. To be honest I haven’t yet read a book that doesn’t have some hint of romance. But in this book it does not take away from the main storyline.

Helen is also not thrown into the demon world in just a few chapters. It was a pleasant change for the author to take the whole book to introduce her character to a new world rather than throw them in and have them suddenly know everything about it. Which is very unrealistic. However, this did cause the book to be slow paced in some parts but I was able to let that go due to the exciting action parts.

Overall I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the next.

Rating – 3/5

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

amy

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Dark Days Club Review

  1. I’ve been trying to decide whether or not to read this one myself. I do like the idea of Jane Austen meets Buffy, but I don’t know about having all the slow parts and taking so long to dive into the new world. But the book does still sound interesting so I’ll probably get around to it…eventually.

    Like

    1. I have to admit it’s not one I would jump at the chance to read again. But it’s a good book if you don’t have other books you really want to read.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. The problem is that I always have other books I really want to read. It’s why my to read soon table has over 60 books on it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: May Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

