Book Review

The Raven Boys Review

The Raven Boys
Title: The Raven Boys
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Publisher: Scholastic
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal

Amazon         Goodreads

Blue has been told by every psychic she meets that if she kisses her true love he will die. Unfortunately for Blue her whole family are psychics so she is reminded of this premonition often. When she meets Gansey’s spirit on the corpse road it can only mean one thing. He is either her true love or she will kill him. In her case it is possibly both. Instead of staying away from him she finds herself drawn into his world along with three other Raven Boys, joining their quest to find Glendower (or as us Welsh know him Glyndwr). Whoever finds the Welsh King will be granted a Supernatural favour.

This book was on my YALC TBR list and I am so glad it was! I loved every minute of it. I actually finished the last page whilst at the airport in Edinburgh and I literally wanted to scream at them to let me on the damn plane so I could get home and grab the second one. The story was so original that I really want to ask Maggie at YALC how she came up with the idea. I have never read anything like it. Which says a lot when you take into account how much YA/Paranormal I read.

Not only was the story original the characters were just 150% lovable! Blue was a young woman who every girl out there could relate to. I am 26 and I couldn’t help seeing similarities between Blue and how I was at her age. Unfortunately I did not find four Raven Boys of own though, which is a complete shame because I now firmly believe that it is a tragedy for any girl to not have her own group of Raven Boys! Each Raven Boy is completely individual and has their own distinct personality but somehow they all work completely as a unit. They manage to communicate without saying a word and I found that camaraderie inspiring. Especially when you learn more about each of their pasts. I am not going to go into too much detail about that because I believe for you to fully enjoy this book and feel the ‘wow’ factor then you need to go in blind of their pasts. However, I will say that Adam is a sweetie, I want to give Noah a hug, I desperately want Ronan’s approval and I want to research Glendower with Gansey. They are all amazing in their own ways and I dare you not to add at least new one book boyfriend to your list after reading this book.

There were also an array of supporting characters in this book that Stiefvater managed to develop with ease and fluency. Each character added to the story in a subtle way and each were memorable in their own way. Whether that be because of their pompous attitude like Barrington Whelk (seriously I want to boo every time his name appeared on the page) or the family dynamic shown through the family of eccentric psychics. Each character was a pleasure to read.

I’m not going to go into much more detail with this review because I don’t want to risk spoilers for anyone who hasn’t read it. There were so many great moments in this book that caught me completely off guard and I don’t want to risk going on a book babble and spilling everything. However, if you have read this book and want to discuss feel free to e-mail, tweet or dm me on instagram. I would love to talk to you about it.

Rating – 4/5

blog lovin'

amy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
5 thoughts on “The Raven Boys Review

  1. I recently finished the series and I completely agree! Every girl needs her own group of Raven Boys. I hope you enjoy the other books as much as you enjoyed this one, I think they get better and better. Loved your review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I finished The Raven Boys like a week ago and am waiting for the rest of the series to arrive in the mail. They were supposed to arrive Friday so I’m hoping the package will be in my mailbox tomorrow. And I agree that girls should each get her own group of Raven Boys. That would be fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: June Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

