Book Review

Gifted Review

Gifted
Title: Gifted
Author: J.A. George
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal

Goodreads           Amazon

Avery Gray is an average University student who happened to be at the wrong place at the wrong time. Now she has been told she is gifted and spends any spare time she has with Theo and his friends in a world she didn’t even knew existed. Not only does she have to balance her old world and her new world, she is suddenly faced with the task of stopping an evil before it can destroy everything. Does she walk away or does she stay and help protect the new world she has found herself thrown into? Gifted is a book filled wuth magic, adventure and love. Also don’t forget the friend drama.

I am going to start with saying that I did receive this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. The fact I got it free will not influence my review in any way.

As a lover of Paranormal/Fantasy this book was definitely right up my alley. I loved that everyone had their own individual power and that no two people were the same. The powers threw me back to my teenage days when I used to spend hours watching Charmed. Another unique part of the magical aspect of this book was that everyone in Hayven had their own unique colour aura. I don’t know why but being able to associate a colour and a power with the ‘Gifted’ characters in this book made it a lot easier to be drawn in by them.

Since I am already talking about the characters I will go into a bit more detail. Our lead protagonist Avery, or Ava as she likes to be called, was born  with no magic. However, after being in the wrong place she is unexpectedly given powers by an elderly woman. Suddenly Ava is no longer a normal girl studying a business degree at University. Now she is a girl who can hear voices. At first she thinks she is going mad which was a realistic reaction and I was very glad that J.A. George didn’t have her accept her gift immediately. It was great to read her struggle with what was happening to her as well as struggling to balance two lives once she had accepted that she was gifted. She also isn’t the “typical” Young Adult female protagonist. She is a size 12 and often worries about how she looks. It was refreshing not to have a protagoisist who was effortless gorgeous no matter what the situation they are in. Overall Ava is a relate-able character and I loved reading about her.

Unfortunately I can’t say the same about Theo. I really wanted to fall in love with him but there was something that kept stopping me from even liking him. However, this may have been the author’s intention in some parts of the book (you will know which part when you read it). However, I kept reading because of Baleigh. She is sarcasm and sass and everything completely bad ass. She has a hard exterior but you can tell from the first page she walks onto that she is fiercely loyal. I longed for the chapters with her in it because she drew me into the story with every blunt remark. I dare you not to like her.

Overall the book is a blend of magic, action and normal everyday drama. The plot is enticing, the writing exciting and the characters completely loveable. This is the first in a series and I cannot wait to read the next one. The end left me wanting more and I can only hope that the second in the series is released soon.

blog lovin'     amy

 

6 thoughts on “Gifted Review

  1. I read this a few weeks ago and it was such a good read. I loved Ava as a main character and although I liked Theo some of his actions through the book put me off him a bit. Baleigh however was such an amazing character! I loved the mix of an contemporary feel and the fantasy, I can’t wait for book two.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds interesting, and I always enjoy finding new self-pubbed and indie-pubbed authors. I think I’ll add this to my list for my next CreateSpace haul.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I read 18 books in April, 31 in May, and I’m working on books 5 &6 for June. Even in my “slump” months I still read at least 7 books. 🙂

        Like

  3. Pingback: June Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

