Book Review

A Gathering of Shadows Review

A gatering of shadows
Title: A Gathering of Shadows
Author: V.E.Schwab
Publisher: Tor Books
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic

Goodreads          Amazon

I was really looking forward to reading this sequel as I loved the first book. In this book it has been 4 months since obsidian stone fell in Kell’s possession and Lila Bard’s life changed forever. Now Kell is left feeling restless and Lila is enjoying life aboard a ship. However, they will meet again as London finalizes preparations for the Element Games, an exciting competition that is supposed to promote health ties between countries.

My love for Lila Bard is still going strong after reading this book. If anything my love has grown. She goes against every female stereotype and is a character that I can fully get behind. She can wear masculine and feminine clothes with equal fierceness. She looks out for herself and doesn’t need a man to enjoy life. Which is a refreshing change to the usual female protagonist.  However, I can’t deny that her and Kell could be a bad ass couple. I don’t think he would ever ask her to be anyone she didn’t want to be and she would make sure he would see the world.

Nevertheless, I think my favourite love story of this book has to be Rhy. I’m not going to say who with because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it but I almost squealed in happiness on several occasions. It was a delightful to read more about Rhy’s past. I am looking forward to see his character developing in the next book.

I think the best thing about this book is that there is a lot more magic in this one. The games are the perfect opportunity for the reader to witness more magic and different elemental abilities. It was a lot of fun to read.

I think the only frustrating thing about this book was the cliffhanger!! I almost screamed in frustration. I cannot wait for the next book to see what will happen.

Rating – 3/5

Are you looking forward to the next in the series?

blog lovin'
amy

 

5 thoughts on “A Gathering of Shadows Review

  1. I agree with you on Rhy’s love story. I am so shipping it. And yes, Kell and Lila would be an amazingly badass couple. I really liked A Gathering of Shadows, though I felt like the Games weren’t long enough for me. Still, I am really looking forward to the conclusion of this trilogy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: June Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

