Discussion

Potterhead July – Hogwarts Houses: Do they create unity or division?

potterheadjuly-ravenclaw

Of course we have all heard that Cursed Child is being released this month so to celebrate I signed up to be apart of Potterhead. It runs over one month and has LOADS of amazing posts. Go check out the schedule here. Thank you so much Aentee over at Read at Midnight for organising this!

I chose to write about the Hogwarts Houses and whether they cause unity among the school or division. I thought this was a really interesting topic so I thought it would be a fun post to write. I did go a little off topic and started talking about the fluency of personalities but I think I get around to my point eventually lol.

sorting hat

When I read the books for the first time, I was young, and thought the idea of being placed in a House with like-minded people was a great idea. It would make it easier to make new friends. I mean if I am courageous and chivalrous, and my fellow house mates are too, then we will get along great. Right? As an adult I don’t have the same opinion because obviously I now know that we don’t stay the same. We change. We adapt. Our life experiences change and mold us. New friends, moving, health problems, losing a loved one, even aging: Any of these can change who we are and how we act.

I am definitely not the same person I was at 11 years old or even 21 years old for that matter. At 26 I find the whole concept of judging a child’s personality at 11 years old and labelling those for their whole school career to be utterly ridiculous. Especially because each house has such a big stereotype attached to them. Let’s look at the poor Slytherins. Their house has more baggage than me on a two week holiday. Right from the beginning the reader is told that they are a house full of dark wizards. Remember what Ron said:

“There’s not a single witch or wizard who went bad who wasn’t in Slytherin”

Even the sorting hat made them see dark:

“Or perhaps in Slytherin
You’ll make your real friends,

Those cunning folks use any means
To achieve their ends.”

It would seem that the poor Slytherin’s didn’t stand a chance to be unified with the rest of the school. No one gave them the chance. However, I don’t see anything wrong with those qualities. They are ambitious and cunning. Why does that have to be bad?

However, going back to my original argument, people change. Just because they were a certain way at in their first doesn’t mean by their 5th year they weren’t completely different.

It also makes it seem like only the Ravenclaw’s can like books, only the Gryffindor’s can be courageous and of course we know this is not the case. Look at Hermione. Repeatedly said to be the “smartest witch/wizard of her time”. She loves to read, spends more time with her nose buried in a book than anything else and is often the one providing the words of wisdom to the rest of the trio. Yet she is not in Ravenclaw, she was placed in Gryffindor. Does that mean in that moment the hat focused on the courage she was showing. A muggle, with no previous knowledge of the magical world, ready to take them all on and prove she deserved to be there. Not through brutish means but through dedication and hard work. Is using one moment to define a person’s being the right way to do it?

This labeling also leads to conflict between people that could have easily been friends if the Sorting Hat had said one word different. If he had shouted ‘Slytherin’ instead of ‘Gryfifndor’, ‘Ravenclaw’ instead of ‘Hufflepuff’. If Ron hadn’t told Harry that Slytherins were where the Dark Wizards went. If Draco hadn’t made him feel like Ron was right. Would Harry still have asked not to go in Slytherin? Would the famous Harry Potter be wearing a green tie instead of a red? We can never know. Personally I think the Houses could do with an overhaul. Either finding new ways to House new pupils or maybe make the House sorting more of a fluid process. Each year the pupils could be sorted instead of just First Year. Or maybe it’s the stigma that comes from the Houses that needs to be removed. No more Slytherin’s are evil or Hufflepuff’s are pushovers. Let the Houses focus on the good but also promote House Unity.

I have to admit I am the girl that wants to save Draco Malfoy. I believe that if he didn’t have the bad influences of his parents and others in his house then maybe he would have made different choices. I know there are many fans who would severely disagree with me but I can’t help but hope it would be the case. What could have happened if Draco had become friends with the Golden Trio? If he wasn’t poisoned by his Father’s ideals and if for that matter Ron hadn’t been by his. Could they have put everything aside and shown the perfect example of House Unity.

I think I have gone on a bit of a ramble. I don’t even think this is what I expected to write but it’s what came out in the stream of writing. I can’t say I don’t disagree with what I wrote. I believe that the Houses cause more diversity than unity. Why split a school when you can stand strong together? They were already at war with the evil outside the school walls and I felt that the Houses created a war within them too.

But that is just my opinion. What do you guys think? Do you think the Houses are a good idea? Or do you think they cause just as many problems as they solve? I would love to read what you think.

blog lovin'               amy

15 thoughts on “Potterhead July – Hogwarts Houses: Do they create unity or division?

  1. I like the point about people changing over time. While I have identified as a Ravenclaw for a long time, my view of the houses has become more complex as I’ve gotten older. I can see more of the other houses in me now too, and there are times where I wonder if I would fit into the other houses at least as much as I would Ravenclaw. If I could put on the sorting hat at various points in my life (sometimes even only months apart), I wonder if I would get a different result each time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a good point. I think depending on the day I would be sorted into a different house on a regular basis.

      Like

  2. “Slytherin has more baggage than me on a two week vacation.” Ha ha ha! I loved this post. You brought up some excellent points, especially about people’s personalities changing as they grow older. When I was eleven, I was a total extravert but now that I’m older I’m much more introverted. I also found your idea of students being resorted each year to be interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad you liked my post. Thank you for commenting ☺️ I think the idea of the houses sounded like a good idea but when you go I’m depth they are pretty stifling.

      Like

  3. I really like the way you write this post, by talking about personalities change 🙂 I immediately think about Draco, Snape, and Regulus. They might be ambitious and evil, but in the end we all see how different they are from where they’re started. In the end they’re all worthy of being a Gryffindor. I’m also one of Draco girls! I really wish he has other figures other than his friends and father so he could realize his mistakes sooner… And yes I agree, the houses only created division!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for commenting. I am so glad you liked my post and that there is another Draco girl out there 😃 I think looking back at the Houses I didn’t realise the division they caused until I did this post.

      Like

  4. You know, I’ve never thought about it with the same idea that you had… If Harry hadn’t had the bias instilled in him by Hagrid and Ron, and if Draco didn’t seem quite so stuck up to him (although, if I remember correctly, Draco was willing to make friends) then maybe he would have been Slytherin and that would have completely changed the tone of the series. And you’re also right that people change so much. Where I’d have probably wanted to be sorted in Ravenclaw or Gryffindor when I was eleven, by now my values have changed to the point that I would want to be in Slytherin. And yet, if I had stayed in R or G, then probably I wouldn’t have progressed into the same person. I wonder if the house model could actually be stifling proper value growth by teaching kids to devalue and dislike people of competing values?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a really good point. Did putting them in their houses with such rigid values attached to them actually stunt their emotional and behavioural growth? Thanks for commenting. It’s definit given me more to think about. 😊

      Like

  5. What an interesting way of looking at Hogwarts houses. I think we got a very narrow look at the different houses because the story was told mainly from Harry’s perspective and his experiences with Slytherin, for example, were limited to Snape and Draco. I wish Rowling has given Harry a friend from Slytherin, as it would have helped battling those awful stereotypes. Loved reading your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve often thought that Slytherin was the only house constantly left out of the whole ‘unity’ thing. I wondered too what it would have been like if Draco became friends with at least Harry. Or if Harry was friends with at least one other Slytherin. I’m really really really hoping that in The Cursed Child Albus Potter gets sorted into Slytherin because that would be amazing and make me so happy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG that would be amazing! I could imagine one of Harry’s children being a Slytherin. Maybe there will be less prejudice among the houses with the new generation.

      Like

  7. I am still somewhat sad at the missed opportunity to humanise the members of Slytherin, Draco and family only got part of the way to redemption. However, it’s true that it’s difficult to stand up against the ones you love – and the ENTIRE of the Slytherin house had parents and loved ones who were Death Eaters and on the side of Voldemort.
    Fascinating post! Thank you so much for joining Potterhead July!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved every minute of Potterhead July!! I am so glad you liked my post. I agree that Draco and his family did not reach redemption. I think that would have been a great moment. Thanks again for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

