Film Review

Now You See Me 2 Review

film review

This is the first time I have reviewed a film but I have been waiting for this film since I left the cinema after watching the first. I honestly did not thing I would fall in love with a film as much as I did with Now You See Me. I was obsessed with characters and was blown away by the plot, so the second one had a lot to live up to in my eyes. Fortunately the second one blew me away as much as the first one. I sat in my chair as the credits rolled trying to grasp what had happened. Like the first one, it surprised me. I honestly did not see that ending coming. But I am not going to go into more detail, I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t seen it (if you haven’t go see it!).

The characters

I am a huge fan of the characters. I was a little disappointed that Henley (Isla Fisher) was not in this one and was replaced by Lula (Lizzy Caplan). Lula was an interesting character but she was very out there in comparison to Henley. However, I think this made it feel less like they were replacing her which I liked. I do wish however, they had gone into more detail about why she left. Jack (Dave Franco) and Merritt (Woody Harrelson) were still hilarious. I love those two, and I think they bring entertainment to every scene. They had great chemistry in this movie. They were teaching each other hypnotism and card tricks which made it feel like there wasn’t a gap between the films where we know nothing that happened. Obviously they had been in hiding and had been looking out for each other.

jack and merritt

I was also pleased to see that Dylan (Mark Ruffalo) had more action scenes in this film. He is more involved with The Horsemen and we see a lot more of his backstory too. I still wasn’t 100% sold on Daniel (Jesse Eisenberg) but I think that is more to do with the character than the acting. Daniel is still fighting to be the leader and he acts selfishly to do so which I did not like. However, the most random character had to be Walter (Daniel Radcliffe). I don’t know why but he annoyed me and just seemed unnecessary. I could have happily watched the film without him.

fool

The Plot

Like I said before, I was thrown off guard on many occasions which is exactly what I like in my films. I don’t want to guess the ending before it happens. I liked to be surprised! Which is exactly what happened in this film. It was fast-paced, action-packed and was full of amazing Magic tricks that left me wondering how they did it. This film was a beautifully magical movie and I loved every minute of it, especially since I walked into that theater with such high expectations.

card trick

Have you seen Now You See Me 2? What did you think? I would love to discuss it with you guys.

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'

 

6 thoughts on “Now You See Me 2 Review

  1. I want to see this movie, but my schedule is insane right now so I fear I’ll have to wait until the DVD release. I really loved the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve only seen the first one and I really enjoyed it 🙂 Though I do get annoyed when films like to replace female characters instead of just having more than one in an ensemble cast. That being said, Isla Fisher may not have want to come back *shrug* Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

