Book Review

The Sin Eater’s Daughter Review

The Sin Eater's daughter
Title: The Sin Eater’s Daughter
Author: Melinda Salisbury
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

goodreads     amazon uk     amazon us

Twylla has what most little girls dream of.. She lives in a castle, is engaged to a Prince and is known to all. However, the reason everyone knows her is because they fear her. She is not just the next Queen she is also the executioner. As the goddess-embodied, Twylla can kill anyone with a single touch. She lives a life where she is never touched, can not reach out to anyone in fear of murdering them. Even her betrothed, who is supposed to immune to her poisonous skin, keeps his distance. Then enters her new guard Lief. Whilst most people stay as far back as they can, he keeps trying to get closer. Not only is she at risk of falling in love, which will be treason, she has to also watch her back as the current Queen has a plan that could tear their land apart.

My YALC reading continues! I was determined to read this book before  the big event and luckily for me this was a really quick read. It only took me a few hours to read and I am definitely going to be getting the second one as quickly as I can.

I loved the idea that Twylla was the reincarnation of the Sun God and Moon Goddess, who could kill anyone with a single touch. However, what kept me reading was the constant plot twists that left me completely baffled. I didn’t see half of it coming. By the end of the book I had to sit there and think over what I had just read. What I thought about the characters and the premise of the story was just stamped on by of a heard of elephants by the last chapter.

what

Speaking of the last chapter, that ending! I have never read such a cliffhanger. I need to read the second book just to stop my head spinning over it. Message to all authors: YOU CAN’T DO THAT TO US! We need to know the answers!

never do that

Can you tell I’m not a fan of cliffhangers? I think I may have to write a post about it. What did you think of this ending?

Anyway, back to the review. Overall I enjoyed this book. It had romance, intrigue and a little bit of mythology that led it to be a good read. I recommend it to anyone who liked young adult fantasy, especially since it can be a quick read.

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Sin Eater’s Daughter Review

  1. I’m so pleased you enjoyed this book! I haven’t read it yet, but I really want to. My sister owns both the books too, which is motivating me to read them! The covers are so beautiful and I’ve heard so many good things. I’ve read a lot of YA fantasy so I was worried that I wasn’t going to find anything new in this one, however you might have just convinced me to pick it up this summer! I’m going to YALC on the Saturday, so hopefully we’ll bump into each other and I’ll see you there! 😀

    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the covers! I definitely need to get the second one asap. Let me know if you give it a go, I would love to chat about it. I hope we see each other at YALC! I’m hoping to use twitter to find people so contact me on there if you are about!!

      Like

  2. Oooh, I love the cover for this one! I think I’ve seen this title around but the cover doesn’t ring any bell… is it another edition?

    Glad to hear that you enjoyed this book! I like slow-boiled fantasies but a fast-paced read is also often really good to push you out of a lull. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t seen any other covers but it is possible. There always seem to be multiple covers around. I was starting to get into a slump so I enjoyed how fast it was to read.

      Like

  3. Pingback: July Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

