Book Review

Unicorn Tracks Review

Unicorn Tracks
Title: Unicorn Tracks
Author: Julia Ember
Publisher: Harmony Ink Press
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

goodreads     amazon uk     amazon us

Mnemba left her home after a savage attack and found sanctuary working with her cousin as a safari guide. She spends her days showing tourists the wonders of the forest that surrounds the camp and the mystical animals that inhabit it. Her work helps distract her from the memories that still haunt her, and nothing distracts her more than the budding feelings she has for the newest tourist, Kara. Kara and her father are hoping to research unicorns, before Kara has to marry her betrothed. However, the feelings the girls have for each other is not the only thing that complicates the trip. Poachers have their eyes set on the unicorns which leads the girls into a conspiracy they couldn’t see coming.

I have had my eye on this book for a while so I was very excited to receive an e-mail from the author asking me to if I would like an e-copy in return for an honest review. However, I want to make it clear that the fact I received it for free will not effect my opinion and my opinion of the book is that is was amazing!!

This book was fast-paced and I read it in a day. In fact I wish it could have gone on for a little longer. I’m not quite ready to let go of the characters yet. Mnemba has had such a hard life and all I want for her is to be happy and live the life she wants. She is a tomboy and loves her job. Who wouldn’t? She spends her time surrounded by mythical creatures. But she is also strong and fiercely loyal. She does what she thinks is right, even if that puts her own life at risk. However, I think her best attribute is that although she has been through immense suffering in her past, she spends everyday trying to rebuild her life into a life she wants to live. She fights for normality and love.

Kara was very similar yet had a very different personality. She was fiery and studious. A random combination but worked to make a compelling character. Her love for the Unicorns are what lead the girls on their adventure. They take on poachers and fight for what they believe in and it was epic! I lost count how many times my heart was in my mouth whilst I waited to see if they would escape their predicament.

However, I think the best thing about the book was Mnemba and Kara’s relationship. It was sweet and passionate simultaneously and I couldn’t get enough. I routed for their relationship until the very last page.

Have you read Unicorn Tracks? If you haven’t I definitely recommend it, especially if you are a fan of mythical creatures or forbidden romances. The cover alone is worth the buy. It is gorgeous!!

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

 

 

One thought on “Unicorn Tracks Review

  1. Pingback: July Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

