Book Review

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review

Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_Cover
Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Author: J.K Rowling
Publisher: Little Brown UK
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

Of course as a Harry Potter fan I had to get my hands on this book as soon as I could, which just happened to be at the Waterstones stall at YALC. I was glad I grabbed it because it was only £10 (BARGAIN!) and they sold out pretty quickly. Everywhere you went at YALC you could see people sitting everywhere reading their copy, myself included. It helped that I had a few hours to kill on the Sunday.

Now I am going to avoid spoilers so this is going to be a short review that focuses mostly on how I felt about the book. I may write a fuller review in the future once people have read it or see the play.

As the eighth book is a script it is obviously a quicker read than the previous seven. Now I gave this book 4/5 stars purely because I was just so happy to be a part of the Potter world again. However, once I finished it I was wondering if it would have been better to remain in blissful ignorance and created my own future for the characters. I mean I have been one of the people who furiously hated the epilogue and would tell anyone who would listen to me ramble about it. I thought it was forced and felt like Rowling was trying to give everyone a happy ending.

Fortunately Cursed Child wasn’t all happiness and rainbows which made it feel a little less cliche than the epilogue of Deathly Hallows, which I was truly thankful for. However, at times it did read like a fanfiction (I am not the only person who has said this). Luckily there were a few things that, in my opinion, saved the book. Firstly Draco. I was just so happy he was in the book and he was his usual snarky self, I almost wept in relief. He didn’t hide what his past had been and you could see he was just trying to forge a path for him and his son to have a happy life. Which leads to the second thing that saved the book; Scorpius! I adored him!! He was the right mix of Draco, Hermione and the Weasley Twins. I just couldn’t get enough of him.

I also enjoyed being back at Hogwarts and to see it from someone else’s point of view other than Harry’s. However, although I did enjoy the story I can’t help but wish I was one of the lucky people who are seeing it in the theater. I just think that although the book is fun to read that watching it on stage would be spectacular. The script doesn’t allow you to get a full grasp of the character’s emotions and reactions as well as a fully written novel or watching the play would. I think seeing it on stage would bring a whole other dimension to the storyline and would maybe make it seem less like a fanfiction to watch it be acted out.

I really want to go into more detail but I don’t want to spoil it. So I am going to stop here. What did you think of the Cursed Child. Do you agree that watching it may bring a different experience to the play?

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

13 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review

  1. I feel the same about this book. I gave it 4 stars mainly because I was happy to be back in the world of Harry Potter. I wish I could see it on stage though, it must be amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would love to be able see it live! That’s the dream (but such an unreachable one at the moment, sadly). I definitely think it would be a much better experience (you were much kinder to the story than I, haha).

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Most of the reviews I’ve been seeing for have been relatively negative, so I’m so glad that it lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed it. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: August Wrap-Up
  5. I really didn’t enjoy this script – I felt like Harry was suddenly a horrid character and Albus was so annoying! Scorpius was the only good thing about it for me.
    I LOVED the epilogue at the end of Deathly Hallows because it gave you a snippet into their lives without revealing anything and it ended with all was well. So I’m going to pretend TCC didn’t happen and all is well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

