Interview · Subscription Boxes

NerdyBookwormBox Interview

interview
From May-July I was lucky enough to be a rep for the amazing book subscription box NerdyBookworm Box. It was my first time being a rep and I was so honoured when Jen asked me to be apart of her team. If you haven’t seen my unboxings you can find them here. Every box always has a fantastic book and bookish goodies that leaves you cheering in joy. So as my rep time has come to an end, I asked Jen if she would be willing to take part in an interview for my blog and I was lucky enough for her to say yes. So here it is. Read on to find out what inspired her to start her box, how she chooses her items and so much more.
  1. What inspired you to start The Nerdy Bookworm Box?

    I’ve always been a book lover, and I’ve been a fan of the subscription model for awhile. My boyfriend is signed up to a monthly gin box, and I have a coffee subscription. He had actually wanted to start his own foodie box a couple of years ago and hearing him talk about it made me want to start my own! So, I guess it was a combination of that plus my love for books that made me want to start Nerdy Bookworm Box. 🙂

  2.  Do you find it difficult to choose our book every month?

    Choosing the book is definitely the best part. Sometimes it’s difficult to choose if there are several great new releases that month, but I’m incredibly happy with the picks so far, as well as the picks for the next several months. Some really great books are coming up!

  3. What has been your favourite bookish item that you have put in one of your boxes?

    That’s so tough! I have really loved them all. The candles and the lip balm stand out to me, mostly because they’re items that I love to use every day myself!

  4. What has been the best part of creating your product?

    The best part is seeing the unboxing photos from subscribers. Shipping week is always my favourite part of the whole process because it really is all about bringing book lovers happiness with great new books and bookish goodies. If subscribers are happy, then I’m happy, and I try my very best to make each box better than the last.

  5. Is it difficult to keep your box from being similar to other book subscription boxes? How do you keep your product unique?

    There are quite a few book boxes now, but I think each one has their own unique touches they bring to their box, and they all do such a wonderful job. Each month, I try to find new suppliers and new products that I haven’t seen included in other boxes, and I recently added the mini-magazine to provide an extra unique item that I haven’t seen before. That seems to have gone over well, so it’s a permanent fixture for all boxes going forward with a much longer version starting in September’s box!

  6.  I love your logo and the colours you use for your boxes. How did you come up with your design?

    Thank you! Blue is one of my favourite colours, and I knew I wanted an owl and a stack of books on the front to clearly show what kind of box it is. Plus, I love owls. When I decided to make the upgrade from the hand-stamped boxes to custom, I thought about staying with the white or going with the standard brown, but when I received the blue sample from our manufacturer, I was sold. I just love how bright and cheerful it is.

  7. Have you ever purchased a subscription box yourself?

    Yes! I have a recurring coffee subscription, which I love, and I’ve also purchased a few boxes for my boyfriend over the years. I’ve also tried out FairyLoot, another UK book box, which I really enjoyed, and I have a bookish candle box coming from Meraki Candles this month. 🙂

  8. Everyone loves your box. How does it feel to know that you have created a successful box?

    Oh, I hope so! It makes me so happy to know that subscribers are enjoying the box. I had no idea what would happen when I began the box, but I knew I had to try because starting a business like this has always been something I’ve wanted to do. I’m so excited that people are enjoying it, and I plan to continue to make the unboxing experience better and better each month.

  9. What can we expect from Nerdy Bookworm in the future?

    There are some really fantastic books coming up in the box over the next few months, and the mini-magazine is getting bigger and better. There are also a few other exciting things in the works, but I can’t reveal those just yet as they’re a surprise! 😉

  10. A random character to end the interview with. If you were stuck on a desert island which literary character would you want to be stranded with?

    Harry Potter, because he could then just apparate us right out of there!

Thank you so much Jen for answering all my questions. I had to stop myself at 10 or I would have kept going. I love your box and I can’t wait for next month when I will have some spare cash to purchase it! Have any of you guys received a NerdyBookworm Box? What did you think? I have loved every box I have received and can’t wait to see what these new exciting things that will be happening in the future.

Thank you again for the interview NerdyBookworm Box!

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

4 thoughts on “NerdyBookwormBox Interview

Leave a Reply

