Book Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses Review

a court of thorns and roses
Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J.Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

When huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast forces her to live in the Fae lands as retribution. However, it turns out the beast is actually a High Fae, who can shift, called Tamlin. As she lives with creatures she thought with her enemy, her feelings for her captor change from hate to passion quicker than Feyre thought possible.

This has been a series that has sat on my shelf for months. I bought ACOTAR and ACOMAF because everyone raves about this books and I just had to see what the hype was about. Everyone warned me that I would enjoy ACOTAR but I would adore ACOMAF and they were right. I really enjoyed being thrown into the Fae world. Feyre was female protagonist I could get behind from the start. Even though she is the youngest of three sisters, she is the one that supports them as their father is no longer capable. She goes to the woods to hunt to provide them with food to eat and fur to sell. Her sisters are hung up on their past. They resent that their family has lost all their money and find it difficult to live in poverty. Feyre is a lot stronger and I found her to be an inspiration to read. She doesn’t give up and does everything for her family, even if that means giving up what she wants/needs in the process.

The other characters we are introduced to are Tamlin and Lucien. Although Tamlin is meant to be the male lead here and I couldn’t help but fall in love with Lucien instead. He was snarky, powerful and sassy as hell. I could read a whole book about him. I am hoping we see more of him in the other books in the series.

This book was action-packed, fast paced and had me enthralled from start to finish. Not only are we introduced to an alternative land but that lands has courts. COURTS! Which is basically gives us readers a way of placing ourselves in a court in a similar way we do to Hogwarts Houses (and we all love to do that). There are seven courts: Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter, Night, Day and Dawn. Here is the stunning map to give you an idea of where the Courts lay in the Fae land. acotar map

I have to be honest I wasn’t sure which Court I would want to be a part of whilst reading ACOTAR as we don’t get a lot of information on them. I found we learnt more during ACOMAF so I will leave writing more about the courts for that review.

Maas created a world that is so beautifully described that I can imagine every inch of it. Not only are we shown the beauty of the Fae world but also the darkness and I couldn’t get enough. And when I say I couldn’t get enough I mean that I literally grabbed the next book from my shelf as soon as I finished the last word. There was no way I was ready to let that world or characters go yet. Especially the intriguing Rhysand who suddenly grabbed my attention when two thirds of the way through the book. It through me so off guard. I went from having absolutely no opinion on him to wanting to protect him at all costs. The only thing that got me through his limited appearence in the book was that everyone was saying that ACOMAF had waaaaaay more Rhysand. YAY!

love

Well I think I am going to stop my review here. I know I haven’t written much but that’s because I am dying to talk about things that happened in ACOMAF, so before I give anything about that book away I am going to bring this review to a halt.

Have you read ACOTAR? Did you fangirl as much as I did? Because I am still not over it, even after three weeks has passed.

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

9 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses Review

  1. It’s so funny to me how people can read the same book and have completely different reading experiences. I just finished and reviewed this book a few days ago myself. I ultimately ended up giving it 4 stars, and I did enjoy it, but I thought the beginning was a little slow. I wish there could have been a little more action since it’s a fantasy and all. But I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’m looking forward to getting into ACOMAF. I wish I could read it right away but I’m participating in a readathon and it’s not one of the books in my pile. lol Just a few more days and then I’m dropping everything to get back to this story. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. To be honest the beginning was a little slow but I definitely think you should pick up ACOMAF as soon as you have the time. In my opinion it grips you from the beginning and leaves you wanting more. Definitely an amazing read. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. Woaaaaaah, I love this review! Oddly, just yesterday I added this book on my ‘next purchases’ LIST on bookdepository — it has been in my endless wishlist from months!
    So I’m definitely gonna buy it next month and I hope I’ll enjoy as much as you did.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you! You should definitely get it and but A Court of Mist and Fury as well. You are going to want to read it as soon as you finish ACOTAR lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: August Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

