Book Review

Lydia: The Wild Girl of Pride & Prejudice Review

lydia

Title: Lydia: The Wild Girl of Pride & Prejudice
Author: Natasha Farrant
Publisher: Chicken House
Genre: Historical, Retelling

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

Lydia is the youngest Bennet sister and she wants to escape the boredom of the countryside. Her chance of adventure occurs when a red-coated Garrison enter Merryton, bringing along with hit the dashing Wickham. Before she knows it Lydia finds herself in Brighton and thrown into a world of sea-bathing, Counts and scandal.

I absolutely adored this book! I am a fan of Austen and when I saw this Retelling on Amazon I snatched it up. It was an interesting twist to read from the point of view of the youngest Bennet sister. She is young, wild and a boatload of fun to read. This was a quick read but I loved every second of it. Reading about what happened to her at Brighton was a rollercoaster of emotions and I like to think that Austen would have approved of Farrant’s retelling. She even got me liking Wickham! I know I can’t believe it either! He is still an arse and is only out for himself. However, how Lydia speaks about him makes me think they could actually have an amazing life together.

So if you love Austen, retellings or historical fiction this is definitely a book for you. It a fast-paced, lovable book that will leave you with the desperate need to re-read Pride and Prejudice.

Are you a lover of Retellings? Which is your favourite?

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

4 thoughts on “Lydia: The Wild Girl of Pride & Prejudice Review

  1. Pingback: September Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

