Book Review

One Book Review

one

Title: One
Author: Sarah Crossan
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

Grace and Tippi are conjoined twins who are going to school after a lifetime of home-schooling. They don’t want to be stared at or made fun of. They just want to have friends and maybe fall in love?

I bought this book whilst at YALC. I was looking for a book that I could get signed for myself and my sister to buddy read. My friend suggested this book. Since it was about sisters I thought it was perfect and quickly grabbed two copies and joined the line to get Sarah Crossan to sign them. By the time I had gotten to the front of the queue I had already read 50 pages. The whole book is written in verse form whilst still having full sentences which makes it a quick and easy read.

I loved the relationship between the two sisters. Whilst they are obviously identical they have two very distinct personalities. The whole book is written from Grace’s point a view and you quickly get the sense of who she is. Whilst she is kind and reserved, her sister is more likely to speak her mind and attempt to rebel. It would have been nice to read from both sister’s point of view but I don’t think it took anything from the book to only get Grace’s. She is a lovable protagonist who was a joy to read and looked at the world in a positive and bright manner.

There were an abundance of great characters in this book. Including the twin’s sister Dragon who had to not only deal with being over shadowed by her sister’s but also pull her weight in the household more than a young girl should. We also get to know the twin’s newest friend Yasmeen who tries her hardest to befriend the girls and understand what they are going through. As someone with her own terrible history and the fear of an early death hanging over her, she seems to understand the girls more than anyone.

Overall this book was a delight to read, and this is coming from someone who doesn’t read many contemporaries. I would recommend this book to anyone who will listen and as it is such a quick read I don’t think anyone will feel like they wasted time on it. If you aren’t in tears by the end then I will be hugely surprised. Have the tissues ready because this book is one emotional ride!

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

2 thoughts on “One Book Review

  1. Yay! So happy you loved this, Amy! I completely agree with you: I don’t read many contemporaries and the few YA contemporaries I do read I usually don’t hugely enjoy, but this one was fantastic. Such a beautifully told story that is incredibly gut-wrenching. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

