Book Review

The Fire Sermon Mini Review

fire sermon
Title: The Fire Sermon
Author: Francesca Haig
Publisher: Gallery Books
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Sci-Fi

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

It’s four hundred years in the future and Earth has changed due to a nuclear fire that laid waste to civilisation as we know it. Due to the radiation fallout every person is born with a twin. Each set of twins is made up of a male and female, and an Alpha and Omega. The Alpha is a prime human specimen; physically perfect in every way. The Omega is burdened with a deformity.

Omegas are branded and removed from their families. Alphas are seen as superior in every way, however there is one thing that every Alpha fears; their twin’s death. Because if one twin dies so does the other. Cass, the female protagonist of this book, is a rare Omega. Her deformity is not a physical one, she is a seer. As her brother becomes a powerful member of the Alpha Council, Cass tries to bring about change so that Omega’s can have the same rights as Alphas. Obviously the Alphas don’t want that.

I did enjoy this book, however I was coming out of a huge reading slump at the time so it took me a lot longer to read than it probably should have (two weeks!!). Due to the slump it left me feeling the book was slow-paced. However, I don’t know if this was actually the case or if it was because I put it down and picked it up on more occasions than I normally would when I read a book. I enjoyed the idea of the book and the ending definitely grabbed my attention enough that I will be reading the second book. However, it wasn’t one of those reads where I was wowed throughout.

But as I said the ending was so good and left me completely reassessing everything I had just read that I can’t not read  the second to see what happens. The ending really saved the book and left me wanting more. I just wished I had felt that throughout.

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

 

One thought on “The Fire Sermon Mini Review

Leave a Reply

