Book Review

Stealing Snow Mini-Review

stealing snow

Title: Stealing Snow
Author: Danielle Paige
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

Seventeen year old Snow has been locked in a psychiatric hospital, but she knows she is not crazy. To make things worse the guy she loves is taken, taking away the last bit of hope she has in the dark place. Feeling completely hopeless she finds herself trusting a mysterious new orderly who tells her about a past she has no knowledge of, and a kingdom that is hers for the taking. She is thrown into a new world and finds herself fighting for her life.

I won this arc at YALC and was really excited to read it, especially since I love retellings. Unfortunately I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. The plot dragged at times and I felt like it jumped from one thing to another with no fluency. I also couldn’t work out if it was a Snow White retelling or a Snow Queen one or even a mix of the two. The love triangle was also predictable and a little annoying. It was also a bit disappointing that the beginning is set in a psychiatric hospital and none of the individuals seem to have any specific mental illnesses to explain why they are there, even the protagonist.

However, I am always a sucker for magic so I did enjoy reading about the new world and the abilities some people possessed.  The writing was well done so I think I may enjoy her other books but unfortunately this book was not for me.

What is your favourite retelling? Did you enjoy this one?

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

7 thoughts on “Stealing Snow Mini-Review

  1. Oh no, hate that you didn’t enjoy it! I read Dorothy Must Die by the same author in October and really loved it. Her writing style just amazed me. I’ll still be checking this book out in hopes that something will catch my eye.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you like my review. As always don’t judge a book by my review lol. I often have a very different opinion to other people.

      Like

Leave a Reply

