Book Review

Crooked Kingdom Review

crooked-kingdom

Title: Crooked Kingdom
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Publisher: Orion Children’s Books
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

Sypnosis from Goodreads

Omg Omg Omg!!! I loved this book. I literally couldn’t put it down and when I say literally I mean it. I read this book in one sitting and then sat with it my hands trying to deal with the emotional turmoil it left me in. If Six of Crows was about the plot then Crooked Kingdom was all about the character development. I loved SOC but it didn’t really develop the characters and left a lot of unanswered questions about who they were, their past and where they were heading. CK tied all of that up in a neat little bow. At the end I was left satisfied that I really knew the characters. There was no more secrets and I found myself emotionally invested in characters without even realising it. I mean Matthias, really? I didn’t care for him at all during SOC but by the end of CK I found myself loving him just as much as the others. We also saw the group really becoming a team in this book, a family even.

However, my main reason for reading the duology has still not changed. I would read both books again purely for Wylan and Jesper. I adore them!

otp-feels

They are officially my newest OTP just errch I love them so much!!

The plot itself was fast-paced and kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. One of the reasons I couldn’t put it down is because there were so many revelations I just had to see how they panned out. Plus I was forever trying to figure out Kaz’s plan (he is one sneaky guy). If you are a lover of plot twists galore then you need to read this book!

So as you can probably tell. I loved this book and have been raving about it to anyone who will listen. Have you read this book? I am always looking for people to fangirl with.

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

 

3 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom Review

Leave a Reply

