Book Review

Wing Jones Arc Review

wing-jones

Title: Wing Jones
Author: Katherine Webber
Publisher: Walker Books
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

**I received this arc for free in exchange for an honest review. It has in no way influenced my review.**

Wing Jones has one grandmother from China and another from Ghana. She often feels like she is caught between two worlds. But when her family is almost torn a part she finds a love for running. Wing’s new found speed could be the only thing that keeps her family a float.

I was lucky enough to get my hands on a copy of Wing Jones at the Our Chemical Hearts blogger event and I was literally bouncing with happiness when it was put into my hands. I witnessed the cover reveal at YALC in July and ever since I couldn’t wait to read it. The book is out in UK January 5th, so I’m not going to go into too much detail because I want you guys to experience the magic for yourself.

However, I will say that this book is just stunning! Wing seems like a regular teenage girl but her spirit and determination is truly inspiring. She has spent most of her life on the sidelines whilst her older brother is an all star football player surrounded by friends. Katherine Webber masterfully writes Wing’s loneliness and sense of not belonging. The struggle of Wing not feeling like she belongs hits the reader hard and makes you want to yell at all the petty high school students that Wing is an amazing person and  they are missing out on a great friend!

Which leads me onto the side characters, who are so well developed they don’t seem like side characters at all. Wing’s Grandmother’s are hilarious and I could honesty read about their interactions all day. Their sly digs and constant bickering lends comic relief in an emotional roller coaster of a book.  We also meet Aaron, who is adorable and only wants the best for his best friend’s sister (why couldn’t I have met an Aaron whilst I was at school!). These characters alone are worth reading this book!

Not only are we introduced to endearing characters but Katherine explores a number of topics such as racism, family and loss. It is so thought provoking and emotional that I may have teared up on a few occasions. I wish I could go in more depth but I want to let you guys read this gorgeous book. If you’ve read it, message me so we can fangirl!!

Remember Wing Jones is out in January. Add it to you wish list! I heard there will be some pretty sprayed pages 🙂

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

2 thoughts on “Wing Jones Arc Review

Leave a Reply

