Book Review

Year of Yes Review

the-year-of-yes

Title: Year of Yes
Author: Shonda Rhimes
Publisher: Simon & Schusters
Genre: Non Fiction, Autobiography

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

The mega-talented creator of Grey’s Anatomy and Scandal and executive producer of How to Get Away With Murder chronicles how saying YES for one year changed her life―and how it can change yours, too.

With three hit shows on television and three children at home, the uber-talented Shonda Rhimes had lots of good reasons to say NO when an unexpected invitation arrived. Hollywood party? No. Speaking engagement? No. Media appearances? No.

And there was the side-benefit of saying No for an introvert like Shonda: nothing new to fear.

Then Shonda’s sister laid down a challenge: just for one year, try to say YES to the unexpected invitations that come your way. Shonda reluctantly agreed―and the result was nothing short of transformative. In Year of Yes, Shonda Rhimes chronicles the powerful impact saying yes had on every aspect of her life―and how we can all change our lives with one little word. Yes.

  • Goodreads Synopsis

I am a huge fan of Grey’s Anatomy so when I saw that the creator had written an autobiography I had to give it a go and I am glad I did. Firstly, there are Grey’s Anatomy anecdotes galore. Shonda talks about the show throughout especially characters such as Christina whom I love. I don’t often read autobiographies but this book was INSPIRATIONAL!! In fact I have now started my own year of yes. I am only a few weeks in but I have been more sociable and have been less inclined to say no! I am hoping this actually continues for the rest of the year.

As I read I couldn’t help but respond to everything Shonda said with “I am exactly like that!” or “That’s me!” I have to be honest it made me feel a lot better to know that someone as successful as her has the same difficulties saying yes to social invitations. She made me want to face those fears and say yes! She made me want to see where the night would take me and be pleasantly surprised by the turn saying yes could take me. I wanted to get that happy feeling knowing I put myself out there and was rewarded for that courage.  So for that I want to thank Shonda. She inspired me when I felt my life was turning stale and not moving in any direction. I was a stalled car that would no longer start. But now I feel like a car heading 70mph down a motorway (yes I’m attempting metaphors now :P).

The writing style in this book was as fun and unique as the author herself. I could literally here Shonda talking in my head. I might as well be having a cup of tea with her having a huge gossip and aren’t they the best type of autobiographies? When you can hear their voice through their writing. But I didn’t expect anything less from the creator of such stella tv shows.

So if you haven’t read this book yet I definitely recommend it. Especially if you are a fan of Grey’s. What has been your favourite non-fiction book this year?

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

 

Leave a Reply

