Book Review

The Thousandth Floor Review

thousandth-floor
Title: The Thousandth Floor
Author: Katharine McGee
Publisher: Harper Collins
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

-Goodreads Synopsis

I had high expectations for this book. The cover alone made me want to really love this book but unfortunately I found it a struggle to read. The first chapter tells the reader that a girl has fallen off the roof and has died, however we don’t know who the girl is. This chapter is the reason I kept reading. Although I had to really push myself through the book I really wanted to know who the girl was.

The main premise of the book is that there is a giant tower in the middle of New York and the higher up the tower you live the richer you are. So basically everyone is literally trying to climb to the top. The book has multiple POV and when i say multiple I mean it! There were five altogether, which I think is the most POV I have ever read in one book. Luckily it was easy to follow and the characters link quite a lot but I found the whole thing to be one big drama fest. Who loves who? Who has money? Who doesn’t? It was a little like a Teen Drama show. First of all we have Avery who is the definition of perfect teenager. She is gorgeous, popular and rich. Basically everyone in the book wants to be her. She was literally genetically designed to be perfect, how crazy is that idea? Pretty much the only person who doesn’t want to be her is…well her. She is in love with someone she shouldn’t be, I won’t tell you who it is because I don’t want to spoil it but I found the whole idea a little disturbing.

The saving grace for this book was Eris. Part way through the book her family lose money and we watch her move from the top of the tower to the bottom. Her journey trying to accept her new life is beautifully written. I found her to be a character I wanted to read more about and I really looked forward to her chapters. Her struggle to accept her new life and to keep it from her friends was a little heartbreaking and beautifully written.

Overall, I didn’t hate the book and the ending definitely wants me to find out what happens next but it was a slow read for me.

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

Leave a Reply

