Book Review

Blackheath Mini Review

blackheath
Title: Blackheath
Author: Gabriella Lepore
Publisher: Oftomes Pulishing
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

goodreads   amazon uk   amazon us

Seventeen-year-old Maggie Ellmes is dogged by a case of chronic bad luck. She figures that’s just her lot in life—that is, until the psychic at Blackheath’s annual carnival reveals that Maggie’s problems are caused by more than just ordinary misfortune; she’s actually been cursed.
Desperate to shake the hex, Maggie has no choice but to seek out the help of Joel Tomlins, a rebellious classmate who’s descended from Blackheath’s most powerful line of witches. After breaking all of his coven’s conventions to help her, Joel discovers that the curse isn’t as bad as Maggie fears. In fact, it’s much, much worse.

Goodreads synopsis

This has a bit of slow start but once I got in to it I loved it! Since the book was about witches I expected it to be set in the past, but I was pleaasently surprised to find it was set in modern times. I found this gave it a unique twist. Especially since their was an unwritten agreement that everyone knew the Tomlins were witches.

I really enjoyed reading about the Tomlin’s family. There are four brothers overall and their family is draped in mystery. You can’t help but want to discover their family secrets. It is one of the reasons I kept reading. I really wanted to know about their parents and find out more about this whole ‘Chosen One’ thing that the eldest Tomlin had going on.

There was a little bit of magic in there, which was thrown in casually like it was something that was very normal for the witches in the coven which I liked. I would have liked a little more but I am hoping there will be in the sequel (which I bought straight away!).

I recommend this book wholeheartedly, especially if you are a fan of witches.

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

 

3 thoughts on “Blackheath Mini Review

Leave a Reply

