Book Review

Mini Reviews Catch Up #1

I am really REALLY behind with my reviews and felt like I was never going to catch up.

200w_d-2

It is one of the reasons I haven’t blogged in a while. I’ve been doing really well with my reading (I read 10 books in January woo!) but it did leave me with a horrible feeling as I quickly became more and more behind with my reviews.

tenor

So the amazing Karen (check out her booktube it is so much fun!) suggested doing some mini review catch up posts which I thought was a great idea! So here is the first mini catch up and when I say mini I mean MINI. I’m sorry they aren’t longer but I really want to catch up and don’t want to leave any out.

frostblood
Frostblood by Elly Blake
Goodreads

Ruby lives in a land that is ruled by Frostbloods. Unfortunately for her she is a Fireblood who has very little control over her powers. When her village is is raided and her mother killed she vows to take revenge on the Frost King.

I got this arc in a Fairyloot box last year but I may have to buy another copy just for the gorgeous cover! It is so pretty. I wasn’t sure if I would like this book but I really enjoyed it. Ruby is an interesting character. She is strong, opinionated and smart. Even when she is surrounded by people she considers to be her enemy, she doesn’t hide who she is. We also have the mysterious Firebood, Arcus, who I could not get enough of. I wanted to know his story just as much as Ruby did. I don’t think I have ever read such an intriguing character and I can’t wait to read more about him in the next book. Overall this was an interesting read, with a magical world. I can’t wait for the second book.

star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256

and i darken
And I Darken – Kiersten White
Goodreads

Lada Dragwyla is not the typical type of Princess. She is tough, brutal; a complete warrior. She plans to overthrow the empire that holds her and her brother, Radu, captive. When Lada and Radu meet the Sultan’s son Mehmed and he unwittingly drives a wedge between the siblings.

I adore any book that includes a strong woman going against all stereotypes and this book has it in spades. If you looked up badass in the dictionary it would have a picture of Lada next to it. There were times that I didn’t like her but then she would do something and I would turn a 180 and absolutely adore her. I was the same with Radu. He was a little boring to begin with but as the story progressed I couldn’t help but want him to find some happiness. He also started to use intelligence as a weapon which I can totally get behind. I can’t wait to read the second book. Definitely a must read for readers who like strong female protagonists or this particular time period.

star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256

Ill-Give-You-the-Sun-cover-880x1349
I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson
Goodreads

Jude and her twin Noah were two of a kind. They were barely apart. Until a tragedy drove them apart to the point they barely speak to each other.

This book is written from two POV and two different time periods. This could have easily effected the flow of the story but if anything it just left me more intrigued. One of the POV is present to future whilst the other is past to present. One creates questions and the other answers them. I loved it! This story left me with warm, fuzzy feelings. Both characters have a lot of internal struggles and I couldn’t help but hope for them to get their happy endings. A bonus is that there was LGBTQ+ representation which I always like to see. Overall a great read and a perfect read fo anyone. So if you haven’t read it yet, go grab a copy!!

star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

4 thoughts on “Mini Reviews Catch Up #1

Leave a Reply

