Book Review

Mini Reviews Catch Up #6

captain-prince
Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat
Goodreads

Damen is a Prince who is betrayed by his half-brother and given to their enemies as a slave. His new master Prince Laurent has no idea who he is and Damen needs to keep it that way in order to stay alive.

I heard such great things about this trilogy lately but I was hugely disappointed. I had no idea there was going to be so many dark subjects such as rape, child sexual abuse and violence. I think I could have enjoyed this more if there wasn’t child sexual abuse in it. It made a difficult read. The relationship between Damen and Laurent was also difficult to understand. Everyone ships them and I did not understand it at all. Laurent is manipulative and dark and uses his master status to control Damen at every turn. Even when he is nice you have to wait for the other shoe to drop.

I am going to read the next book because I really want to know why people like it so much. I’m hoping I will start to understand when I read the next one.

star_gold_256star_gold_256

the-witchs-kiss
The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr
Goodreads

Meredith is like every sixteen year old girl trying to fit in at High School, except for the fact she is a witch trying to deny her magic. But when captivating Jack enters her life everything is about to change.

I enjoyed this book but I did have to keep myself reading during the first half. I think my favourite part was Meredith’s brother Leo. I wish he became more of a main character because he was pretty much the reason I kept reading. I wanted him to get his happy ending so badly. He is also the reason I will be reading the next one.

Usually fairytale retellings are my favourite and the fact this was a reveresed Sleeping Beauty (the guy is the sleeping beauty) was one of the reasons I liked part of this book. But Meredith was dull at times and I didn’t always agree with her decisions. But her relationship with her brother was so lovely to read. They always had each others back and would follow the other to hell if they needed to. It was one of the best parts of the book.

star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

2 thoughts on “Mini Reviews Catch Up #6

Leave a Reply

