Book Review

Mini Reviews Catch Up #7

My last catch up! I’m finally all caught up on my reviews, hopefully I won’t get so behind again. I’m glad you all enjoyed these mini reviews, I have enjoyed doing them. I may have to use this idea in the future. What do you think?

shatter-me
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Goodreads

Juliette touch is lethal. In fact it has been 264 days since she last touched anyone. The time before had been a complete accident and she still has nightmares about it.

First things first. How beautiful is this cover? I am in love! It is the definition of hauntingly beautiful. A friend of mine bought me this trilogy for Christmas and she was adamant I would love it.

It turns out I didn’t love it but I didn’t hate it either. I definitely want to complete the trilogy as I really did enjoy reading about Juliette and would like to know what happens to her. She is strong and fights to the bitter end which I can’t help but admire. But I think my favourite character had to be Warner. I know, I know! He is meant to be the bad guy but there is something slightly Rhysand about him that makes me feel like he is going to redeem himself. I will let you know if my feelings change after reading the rest of the trilogy.

The romance was a little annoying. There was something naive about the romance between Adam and Juliette that couldn’t help but leave me feeling that it is about to come crumbling down around them very soon. They hadn’t seen each other in years but suddenly were in love. I understand they could have had feelings for each other in the past but they had both been through a lot since then and had become different people but they were suddenly head over heels. I really wanted them to explore the new people they had became before forming a relationship.

star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256

cinder
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Goodreads

Cinder is a cyborg who is the best mechanic in the Kingdom. Prince Kai hears of her skills and asks her to fix his personal android. Cinder desperately wants to impress the Prince but when her younger sister contracts the deadly plague that is plighting the country, her stepmother volunteers her body for plague research.

There was so much hype around this series and I couldn’t help but love the idea of a cyborg Cinderella. Trust me when I say, Cinder did not disappoint. Not only is she a cyborg, she is also a badass mechanic with an affinity for sarcasm. I adore sarcasm in all forms so Cinder is the perfect protagonist for me. Throughout every twist and turn she doesn’t let it grind her down, which I couldn’t help but respect. I also adored that she didn’t throw herself at the Prince’s feet. Which brings me to our Prince Charming. He was kind of what’s the word…shall we say dull. Yes he is charming. Yes he can sweep a girl off her feet. But he is on the verge of war and he lacked the strength you would associate with a leader. I wanted him to have a bit more ‘oompf’ about him.

However, I did enjoy this book and I really want to read Scarlet. It is a Red Riding Hood retelling, which are always my favourite. I love anything with Wolves so I am really looking forward to it.

star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256

alpha-and-his-ace
The Alpha and his Ace by Ana J.Phoenix
Goodreads

Brandon is the Alpha of his Wolf pack but his pack are starting to get antsy as he has not yet met his mate. Then he meets Aidan who his asexual. The problem is Brandon has no idea what that means.

This was a quick and easy read. Aidan is a complete sweety and Brandon tries everything in his power to understand his mate. He researches and does everything to be a romantic mate even if sometimes it doesn’t quite go to plan.

If I had one criticism it is that it was too short. This meant the characters didn’t get fleshed out enough and everything seemed rushed. Aidan, especially, would have benefited from being fleshed out. There are not many ace characters out there so this would have been a great opportunity to have a well developed ace character.

Overall it was a cute read that passed a few hours and I would definitely read the sequel.

star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

4 thoughts on “Mini Reviews Catch Up #7

Leave a Reply

