Book Review

Caraval Review

caraval
Caraval by Stephanie Garber
Goodreads

Scarlett’s dream of seeing Caraval has finally become reality. Unfortunately she is about to get married and her marriage is the only thing that will save her and her sister, Tella, from their controlling father. However, her sister didn’t seem to care, she wanted to see Caraval even if that means taking her sister against her will. But when they arrive Tella is taken by the mastermind behind Caraval, Legend.

LOVE LOVE LOVE this book! There has been so much hype around this book that it could have easily been disappointing. Fortunately this was not the case. In fact I may have gotten a little caught up in the game myself. I never knew who Scarlett could trust, even at the end I was still expecting the game to continue. There were so many twists and turns it could have easily become confusing. However, Stephanie did a great job of keeping the game exciting whilst still making it easy to follow. Every moment was truly magical!

I also really liked the characters. Scarlett was an interesting protagonist and I enjoyed reading about her and Julian’s adventures as they attempted to complete the game. However, the relationship that really stood out for me was the sisterly bond between Scarlett and Tella. They have been through so much together and everything they do they do for each other. It was so beautiful to read. Of course I can’t mention the characters without mentioning the man himself…Legend! Unfortunately I can’t really say much because the whole point of his character is that he is always in the background, playing the puppet master, but he isn’t in the foreground. This should make him obsolete next to the other characters but it actually makes him intriguing and one of my favourite characters. I want to know him and lift the veil of mystery that surrounds him.

However, there a few trigger warnings. There are mentions of physical and emotional abuse from the girl’s father as well of mentions of people jumping of balconies. So just beware if you struggle to read about this topics.

Overall, I couldn’t have asked for a better read. I have been wanting to read this since July so I really built it up in my head and it was definitely worth the wait. Every illusion, every betrayal, I just couldn’t get enough.

star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

 

 

2 thoughts on “Caraval Review

  1. My friend has just started reading this and she said she doesn’t really like Scarlett! But I really like her because she’s so out of her normal zone of nothing interesting happening to her that it works even when she makes such bad decisions haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

