Book Review

Stalking Jack the Ripper Audiobook Review

jack the ripper
Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
Goodreads

Audrey Rose Wadsworth is not like your average lord’s daughter. She goes against her father, and society’s, wishes for her to be another well-bred lady looking for a husband. Instead she prefers to study forensic medicine in her Uncle’s laboratory. Unfortunately her passion for anatomy has pulled her into the world of gruesome murders and suddenly she finds herself investigating a serial killer.

I finally took the plunge and signed up to audible. I have wanted to try audio books for a while, and since I also just started the gym, I thought listening to books whilst working out would make it go faster. Stalking Jack the Ripper was my first choice and I do not regret it. I admit it took me a little while to get used to listening to books (my mind kept drifting and I would realise I missed the last ten minutes!) but once I got used to this new experience I loved it!

There was so much to enjoy in this book. The setting, the feminism and the characters all led to a gripping story. There were some gruesome parts but what do you expect with a book with a title like that! Audrey Rose was a spectacular MC. She was intelligent (I have to mention this first it is such an important part of the character), brave and sarcastic as hell, everything I like in a strong female protagonist. No matter what every male she meets says she basically proves them wrong.

Women don’t need a career. **Screw you Audrey Rose will sneak of and study forensic medicine.**

Women need men to take care of them. **Off Audrey Rose goes to investigate a crime scene in the middle of London at night.**

Women should be married and have children. **See previous comments.**

She is a total bad arse!

However, her love interest was kind of perfect. He doesn’t try and change her and their verbal sparring is some of the best parts of the book. Trying to see who can get the last words leads to some serious “oh snap!” moments.

Overall this book was a lovely read, and once I got used to the narrator reading all the characters and learning to distinguish between the sight differences in tone she used to show the different characters, it led to an easy listen. It is easily one of my all time favourite crime novels and I can’t wait to read more from this author.

star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

 

Leave a Reply

