Book Review

City of Heavenly Fire Review

city of heavenly fire
City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
Goodreads

Shadowhunters and demons square off for the final showdown in the spellbinding, seductive conclusion to the #1 New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

Darkness has descended on the Shadowhunter world. Chaos and destruction overwhelm the Nephilim as Clary, Jace, Simon, and their friends band together to fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell. Nothing in this world can defeat Sebastian—but if they journey to the realm of demons, they just might have a chance…

Lives will be lost, love sacrificed, and the whole world will change. Who will survive the explosive sixth and final installment of the Mortal Instruments series?

  • Synopsis from Goodreads

I finally finished The Mortal Instruments!! This has been a long time coming and I know I am really behind with the times but I finally finished it. I stopped after book three for a while and it really took a lot of prodding from other readers to get me to pick up book four. However, I am really glad they kept on at me because I loved how the last book ended. This book also gave me an insight to the characters of Lady Midnight and I adored them! So I am definitely going to be starting that asap!

This was a long book but somehow it turned out to be a quick read. It was action pack and fast paced, and I often found myself holding my breath in suspense about what was going to happen next. There was also tears which I kind of expected as this was the last book but that didn’t stop me reaching for the tissues every now and then.

A bonus for this book was there wasn’t as much Clary and Jace drama which kind of put me off in the previous books. I was kind of glad there love life kind of normalised and wasn’t the focus point of this book. However, the weird thing Sebastian wanted between himself and Clary was just bizarre. It was the one point of the book I just couldn’t get my head around and when you take into account this book it overflowing with demons and other magical creatures this is obviously saying a lot.

But my favourite part of this book was probably Alec and Magnus. I ADORE those two! They are easily one of my favourite OTP of all time! However, I do have to mention Izzy. I think of all the characters in this book she develops the most. At the beginning of the series she was very closed off and snappy but by the end we see who she really is and why she protects her heart. I loved her and to be honest I would choose her as a lead protagonist over Clay any day.

So there we are. I am so sorry for the lack of posts lately. My motivation has hit an all time low but I am hoping to post more soon.

Have you read this series? Who is your favourite character?

star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256star_gold_256

amy

Follow me on:

Instagram       facebook      blog lovin'   goodreads

2 thoughts on “City of Heavenly Fire Review

Leave a Reply

